Reviews

We wanted to thank you for an enchanting culinary vacation in Greece. This venture is extremely successful. Combining cooking workshops with local tours and an interesting and pleasant company, is a winning combination. All workshops were conducted in a calm and pleasant atmosphere, making sure safety issues are adhered to. We learnt to make local dishes in authentic Greek kitchens. What a great experience. The framework presented a good balance between social and culinary activities. Although we did not work hard in the kitchen, we certainly had the opportunity to experience working with local cooking and baking ingredients. Each class culminated in a superb meal where we ate what we prepared in the company of the people who shared the same cooking experience. Every person on the local team was nice and welcoming. Susan and Thasos, with their command of the English language, were helpful and important for the success of the classes. The drivers were courteous. And, last but not least, the chefs and their workers, were very kind and warm and demonstrated professionalism in the kitchen. Good job!

Posted on January 26, 2016 by Zahali and Nahum G.,
5 / 5 Excellent

We always viewed Greece as the perfect location for historical/archaeological tours or resort tours, with basic Mediterranean food with exotic Greek names, catering to tourists. You managed to surprise me! From the very beginning, you managed to transform the image of Greek food. We were exposed to the culinary depth and wealth, which we did not anticipate. The workshops were superb, in unique and authentic locations (Greek “mama” restaurant, contemporary beach restaurant, progressive baker, and more), guided by the best and leading local chefs. Meals and entertainment during the culinary workshops and in the evenings were exceptional. Lunch at Semeli Winery was nothing short of amazing. It took us a week to digest and internalize the amazing cooking experience we had in Greece. Heartfelt gratitudes

Posted on January 9, 2016 by Anat and Tedy K.,
5 / 5 Excellent

We enjoyed seeing the Corinth Canal. We very much enjoyed cooking class with energetic Katerina and were happy to participate in preparing the traditional Moussaka. Her desire, along with her husband and daughter, to please us and their generosity will be forever remembered. Generally, the Greeks are very warm and welcoming and their hospitality is heartfelt. The blend of the members of the group was wonderful. This is the time to thank you for all you did making sure our trip is most enjoyable. And special gratitude for the wine and thoughtfulness celebrating our anniversary. Keep what you do, with warm regards,

Posted on January 6, 2016 by Ronit and Miki M.,
4.5 / 5
Notice: Undefined index: 4.5 in /home/mipo/domains/tallisvacations.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/tallis/template-reviews.php on line 48

Pleasant and clean hotel rooms. Good food and service. Effective transportation. Local tour operators are nice and dedicated and they made sure that everything worked perfectly (and this cannot be taken lightly). Bread baking was great. Cooking with Kostas was excellent (big chapeaux), marmalade making was excellent. Sightseeing was successful and so was the evening and music at Sofos. It was an amazing and special experience. The atmosphere was very good and we had a sense we had a unique opportunity that will be long remembered.

Posted on December 16, 2015 by Odelia S.,
5 / 5 Excellent

The chefs and the restaurants are a good choice. Breaks during cooking classes are welcome. Overall: A, including the group members – A+.

Posted on December 16, 2015 by Eliezer S.,
5 / 5 Excellent

Thursday (10/29/15), baking class at Staxi Bakery: nice experience preparing Baklava, semolina cake, and Kataifi, characterized by generosity in ingredients (we each prepared our own cakes), and refreshments during the break, including Greek wine and cheeses. Friday (10/30/15): visit to Semeli Vineyard – hospitality and lunch were indulging. Cooking with Irini and Maria at Sofos as well as eating the food we prepared was excellent. The first personal encounter with the local chefs and their family augmented our enjoyment. Their personal story and the feeling they opened their kitchen and home to us was special. Saturday (10/31/15): Cooking with Katerina at Maistrali was educational and experimental for the same reasons as Sofos. Here, we also had a chance to work alongside the restaurant’s local workers in the kitchen, which added to the experience. Eating the food we prepared was powerful and the individual giveaway of honey and ouzo was much appreciated. Sunday (11/1/15): Sightseeing tour of Argolis – interesting and beautiful locations. We also enjoyed the group photo; all wearing Tallis blue hats (we look forward to seeing the group photos). Greek Evening at Sofos – lively evening of great Mediterranean food and Greek music. Being able to sing along and dance made it even more special. The personal contact with the local restaurants and chefs is impressive, making the experience fascinating. The itinerary was well planned and allowed for some private time. The archaeological sites, the museum, and the Corinth Canal provided an enjoyable touristic experience. We felt we had a glimpse of Greece; not only its food and kitchen. It was a most enjoyable and unique experience, which we greatly enjoyed. Heartfelt gratitude.

Posted on November 4, 2015 by Yael and Yair B.,
5 / 5 Excellent

Breaks during cooking and baking classes were refreshing and experimental. Baking at Staxi Bakery was enjoyable. Cooking with Katerina at Maistrali was exceptional and food and hospitality were extraordinary. Hotel, transportation, and tour operators were good. Company is very important. We were lucky that all participant were charming and the atmosphere was amazing. The last evening at Sofos was enchanting. Overall, it was an amazing experience and we enjoyed every moment.

Posted on November 4, 2015 by Ronit R.,
4.5 / 5
Notice: Undefined index: 4.5 in /home/mipo/domains/tallisvacations.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/tallis/template-reviews.php on line 48

We had a great trip! Cooking workshops were interesting and most enjoyable. We totally enjoyed everything: Bread baking at Dimitriou Bakery, enhanced by cheese making with Yianna, was excellent. Cooking class with Kostas at Rigani Restaurant was perfect. The menu was wonderful. Kostas was well prepared. Cooking utensils and all ingredients were prepared ahead of time. The workshop was clear and we all participated. Sweet making with Sofia at To Filema Tis Lelas was wonderful. We took advantage and privately toured the market, which enhanced our enjoyment. The sightseeing tour was successful and the evening at the Taverna was fantastic. Susan and Sophia were courteous and effective. We already practice cooking Greek food at home. Thank you!

Posted on April 16, 2015 by Maddy N.,
5 / 5 Excellent